Dr.  Yemothy

During today’s State Board of Education meeting, five South Carolina educators were recognized for being named as finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). This award is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and computer science teachers.

The finalists are Scott Buhr of Hillcrest High School, Katie Thompson of Academy for the Arts, Science, and Technology: A STEM School, John Hostetler of Aiken High School, Nicole Yemothy of Gettys Middle School, and Sharonda Jacobs of Aiken Scholars Academy.